Logan’s Literary Libations

Ramblings of a Romance Junkie

Innocent In Death… The Next JD Robb

Posted by Jenn on November 13, 2006

I had barely finished reading Born In Death when I was already searching for information on the next one. For those who don’t know Born In Death is the latest installment of JD Robb’s In Death Series. Robb who is the pen name for Nora Roberts, writes two of these books a year, not enough if you ask me, but unfortunately her publishers don’t.

Any way the point is I eagerly await the release of each and every JD Robb book like I awaited the birth of both of my sons. I need my fix you see like any good junkie. I used to think I read this series for the homicide cases, but more and more I realize the case is just an excuse to check in on Eve and Crew. Plus every single book has the yummy main squeeze of Lt Eve Dallas, ROARKE, oh yeah he’s the man I most wish was real and not just a character, but that is another post entirely.

So all this background info leads to this, like any good addict I decide to hop over to Amazon and see if they have the next In Death title listed. So to my great surprise there it is, no cover, but it’s there. Innocent In Death, a release date of 2/20/2007. I can already feel the excitement in me building. I love these books, then I read the blurb. I was like OMG OMG OMG.

Mind you I don’t want you to get the wrong impression. This book sounds awesome and I realize that a little angst is needed to keep the series fresh and all, BUT HOLY CRAP. Please say it isn’t so, that I’m just over reacting. There is no way NORA would spilt up Eve and Roarke right.

Here’s the Blurb:

The phenomenal series set in a future New York City returns as NYPSD Lt. Eve Dallas hunts for the killer of a seemingly ordinary history teacher-and uncovers some extraordinary surprises. Craig Foster’s death devastated his young wife, who’d sent him to work that day with a lovingly packed lunch. It shocked his colleagues at the private school, too, and as for the ten-year-old girls who found him in his classroom in a pool of bodily fluids-they may have been traumatized for life.

Eve soon determines that Foster’s homemade lunch was tainted with deadly ricin, and that Mr. Foster’s colleagues have some startling secrets of their own. It’s Eve’s job to sort it out- and discover why someone would have done this to a man who seemed so inoffensive, so pleasant . . . So innocent.

Now Magdalena Percell . . . there’s someone Eve can picture as a murder victim. Possibly at Eve’s own hands. The slinky blonde-an old flame of her billionaire husband, Roarke-has arrived in New York, and she’s anything but innocent. Roarke seems blind to Magdalena’s manipulation, and he insists that the occasional lunch or business meeting with her is nothing to worry about . . . and none of Eve’s business. Eve’s so unnerved by the situation that she finds it hard to focus on her case. Still, she’ll have to put aside her feelings, for a while at least-because another man has just turned up dead.

Eve knows all too well that innocence can be a facade. Keeping that in mind may help her solve this case at last. But it may also tear apart her marriage.

I called my friend Kathy, who I turned on to the In Death Series, and she assured me repeatedly that Nora would not do that. I should have faith and know that it’s just a story line. Roarke and Eve are forever, right? So now I have to wait. February can’t get here fast enough.

2 Responses to “Innocent In Death… The Next JD Robb”

  1. Anonymous said

    Ok first let me say …..woohoo….release date a day before my birthday……Happy Birthday to me!!!!

    And second….I am patiently waiting to read Born in Death as you are for me to read it!!!! A couple of more days!!! All I can say about the new one to be released is she WILL NOT break those two up. She can’t!!! She just likes to freak us all out!!! That is all it is. Gets us to buy the book just to see what is going to happen!!! Man these next 3 months are gonna be crazy waiting for it!!!

    Your In Death sister!!!
    Kathy

  2. Kristie (J) said

    This one can’t come soon enough for me!! I love this series SO much!! And this one sounds very good doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
