Logan’s Literary Libations

Ramblings of a Romance Junkie

Drowning under my TBR pile

Posted by Jenn on March 3, 2007

For a few weeks now I have been telling anyone who will listen that I need to go through my books and really figure out what I haven’t read. You see I have an addiction, one of course I want no cure for, but an addiction just the same. One know help group or 12 step program will cure. How do I know it’s an addiction? Keep reading and you see all the proof you need.

I am addicted to buying books, I will buy them used if they are out of print, I buy them new, I buy them from my library, to be honest if a store I enter has book I will more than likely leave with one. It drives my husband crazy, I am constantly nagging him about building me shelves in our bedroom for my every expanding library. Someday he’ll do it, for now however I make due with two old CD/Movie racks that I piled with books and the top shelves of my closet.

Finally about a week ago I decided to clean off the shelves what I have read and move the majority of my TBR, which is crammed in my closet our of it. I figured I would jot down the books I had yet to read and then I would add to it the eBooks I needed to read. It could be more than what 40 or 50 Books, Right?

Man was I wrong!

I was shocked to learn that I have over 200 books to read, I can’t for the life of me figure out where they all came from. I know I got some books from Sarah McCarty when she offered them to her fans on her yahoo group, I knew I had a few Harlequin Blaze books to read from when I got them monthly, and I knew I had books I had bought when they came out, but had put aside for the time being. I can’t seem to figure out how my TBR List got so far away from me. Plus every month there are more books being released that I have to have, plus I have about 40 Books from Nora Roberts alone I still have yet to buy. I mean they are Nora books so it’s a given that I must own them.

I know I can’t stop buying, but man I really need to get reading. I’m not sure how I will plow through the pile, maybe if I stop sleeping, bathing and feeding the husband & kids I can read them all by the end of the year. Of course with my addiction I know I will still keep buying.

It’s a vicious cycle I know, but I have to have my books. It’s official I’m afraid……

I’m A Book ADDICT! and apparently I’m proud of it.

5 Responses to “Drowning under my TBR pile”

  1. Kathy said

    Take it from someone who knows….I have seen her books and let me tell you…..she has a problem!!!! LOL I thought I was bad. My addictions pretty much are as bad when it comes to books but I only have certain authors I like to read. And I have to own every book I read. I don’t get any satisfaction if I check it out of the library. It also drives my husband nuts. I have been banned from buying books so I sometimes have to become creative when ordering books…..like having them sent to my parents house….LOL….I have so many books….my husband don’t notice a couple more.

  2. nath said

    Hey Jenn,
    this is reality. By the way, I’m a book addict too… I’m considering renaming my blog: Bookaholic ^^; it drives my parents crazy… Still, my TBR pile is not as big as yours 😛 I guess we’ll know what you’ll be doing in the next few days, weeks, months, years 😛

  3. Lori said

    Think of it this way- Because you’re an aspiring writer, it’s ok. It’s market research.

  4. I’m drowning under my pile, too. My den is a mess, books all over! My short-term fix is keeping the den door closed. There’s a major used book sale here in town to benefit the public library. My long-term goal is to carefully go through them all and part with those I can bear to for a good cause. (Of course, you know what will happen. While I’m at the sale …)

  5. Jenny said

    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your Thank you For Best Content

    Books Nora Roberts Books Store

Leave a Reply

 
