Logan’s Literary Libations

Ramblings of a Romance Junkie

Forbidden Pleasure by Lora Leigh… possible spoilers

Posted by Jenn on July 7, 2007

Forbidden Pleasure

The Club is private, exclusive and only for those men whose fantasies run to the more forbidden side. . .

People have heard only fleeting rumors about The Club. Located just outside Washington, D.C., only its members know where men go when they want to indulge the desire to share their women with a carefully selected male partner.

Former FBI agent John ‘Mac’ McCoy resigned his membership from The Club when he married Keiley Hardin. Tempting and innocent, sweet and sexy, she would never accept Mac’s desires to share her with another man. However, Keiley’s growing curiosity and Mac’s own fantasies of sharing his wife haunt his dreams. And his passions.

Unable to wait any longer, Mac invites his best friend Jethro Riggs, to their home with the intention of drawing Keiley into the pleasures that can only be achieved when two men love the same woman. But there’s more going on in Mac’s neck of the woods than a little additional pleasure. A past case involving a
stalker who likes to play games has shown up again, but now Keiley is in the middle of it all. Passion and pleasure, danger and desire combine as the forbidden becomes an addiction none of them can escape.

This is one story I feel like I have been waiting for forever to read. My first foray into the Erotica/ Romantica publishing at Ellora’s Cave was with Ms. Leigh.  To this day I vividly remember Cole and Tess like I read their story yesterday and not almost 3 Years ago. Ever since opening the pages of Surrender I’ve been hooked. Devouring each book as qucikly as I could get them. Then the day came that Ms. Leigh moved from Ebook to Print. I wondered, as I’m sure others did, what would happen to the series we’d grown to love from her. Lucky for us her Breeds and now her Trojans have gone with her as she moved to New York publishing.

So let’s talk about what works for me in this novel, honestly everything, I mean what’s not to like. Not one, but two Alpha Males and as usual a Heroine I like and don’t want to strangle. Nothing worse, in my, than a Heroine with no back bone. I mean I’ve been know to grow to love one that starts out weak and unsure, but then evolves to a tough, take no crap woman in her own right.

Mac is the husband, and while I felt the need to yell at him for hiding his true self from Keiley I could certainly understand his reasoning. And to be honest I was also glad that Ms. Leigh had him somewhat reserved with Keiley, seeing as she had never been with a man other than her husband. Letting her get used to him and her sexuality was most likely the right thing to do, but dang I hate to see an Alpha like Mac stiffle his sexuality, even if the circumsatnces call for it.

Keiley is a force to be reckoned with. She knew about her husband and the club when she met him and at the time it scared her. Can’t say I blame her, sleeping with two men is a BIG step. So her caution and then her growing curiosity rang true for me. Her gradual acceptance and then her embracing of the life style were believable and like I said before she was a character I could really like and respect. Her life prior to meeting and marrying Mac had been tough and riddled with scandal, yet she found a way above it and is all the more stronger for it now.

Jetho Riggsis tough strong and very likable. With a name like Jethro however, I had to wonder how I would react to him. Not that it’s a bad name, but it does bring to mind images of a man that may be a little behind the times. Plus I admit to thinking he should be a farmer or some other similar occupation, completely stereo-typing of me and I’m not proud of it. Of course one should never judge a book by it cover or in this case a man by his name. After reading this story I’ll never underestimate Mr. Jethro Riggs again. I went into this book thinking Mac would be the man for me, but dang Jethro snagged my heart. The man is HOT, I kid you not.

As for the storyline I would have liked a little more from the stalker aspect, in the beginning the clues and hints that something was amiss were very subtle and well done. At first I didn’t catch them. As the story progressed I was like DUH. I’m a big romantic suspense fan so more danger and intrigue would have been okie dokie with me, but the lack of it did not take away from the story’s impact.

The whole small town dynamic is always interesting to me and the way in which it was woven into the story was perfect. I have always been intrigued by the idea of living in a town where everyone knows everyone and there business. As some one who grew up in a town just outside of Philadelphia, that dynamic is some what lacking. This book did give me a glimpse of that small town living I’m not that familar with and I admit that because of the that I liked some of the ladies in town, others however, I wanted to smack really hard repeatedly. If you read the book than you know who I’m talking about.

As for the relationships between Jethro, Mac and Keiley it was one that I was unsure I could embrace fully. I guess I expected Jethro’s involvement to be more secondary and less permenant that is apparently will be. So this of course raises the only problem I have with this book… Jethro will never get his own book. SOB!!!

So to summarize, Forbidden Pleasure is one hot read, overflowing with hot sex,passion and a lot of emotion. It has one heck of a HEA and is definitely a keeper. I do have one question though, who from the club will be the next to get his book? Since this story takes place away from the setting of THE CLUB there is really no secondary character that could be the next Trojan to fall in love.

Leave a Reply

 
