Logan’s Literary Libations

Ramblings of a Romance Junkie

Safe Harbor by Christine Feehan… Possible Spoliers

Posted by Jenn on July 8, 2007

Safe Harbor

Safe Harbor is book 5 of the Drake Sisters Series by Ms. Feehan and one I admit I was looking forward from the minute I met Jonas in Magic in the Wind.

One of seven daughters in a line of extraordinary women, Hannah Drake has been the elusive object of affection for Jonas Harrington for as long as the young man can remember. If only the stunning super-model was driven by a passion other than her career. But Jonas isn’t the only one with desires for Hannah.

From the shadows has emerged a vengeful figure who stalks the beauty with one terrifying purpose: to strip her of all she is and destroy her. Only one man was destined as her protection. Now, out of a storm of danger, Jonas must guide the woman he loves from a sinister darkness that threatens not only Hannah, but the entire Drake family.

This is one of those stories where you know the H/H before you even open to page one. Reading this book for me was like going home. Over the course of the four previous books I have come to love all the Drake Sisters and Hannah Drake is no exception. Hannah is the sister I find I went to protect right along with her sisters. She is a model yes but so unaware of her beauty that it is at times heartbreaking. What she doesn’t fully realize until the end of the book is that she has always been beautiful, on the inside, where happily it counts the most.

As for Jonas, well it was painfully aware to all who have read this series that he loves Hannah, what was not so apparent though was how much he truly gets her as person, not as the model or as the sister, but as a woman. Watching as the two of them finally fall in love was quite rewarding. Jonas has always been the one for Hannah we all knew, shoot they knew, now finally they admit it. Hallelujah!

What I found surprising was the twist and turns the story took. The crime that was so horrible and life altering for Hannah was vivid and very real. As a reader I could almost picture the scene and just imagination had me shuddering in fear. What I did like though was the intigrating and story weaving in which Ms Feehan brought to life Hannah’s would be tormentors. I admit to thinking at one point that it was a certain individual or individuals, only to be steered another way all together. I had my suspicions about 3/4 of the way through and they did enf up being correct.  I blame my ability to figure out the criminal in the book on Nora Roberts/JD Robb. I read so many of her suspense and In Death books that I swear I’m starting to think like a cop.

Regardless of figuring it out, she sure did have a plethora of evil and twisted villians to choose from. There were Russian Mobster, Religious Cult Leaders, Animal Rights Activists, who weren’t so animal friendly (UGH), and of course the garden variety starkers/crazed fans you’d expect a model to have. The creep factor was off the charts in this one.

I was also glad to see Ilya make his return, as I suspect he is the man for Joley and watching Elle interact with Jackson is always fun and entertaining. Even with the threat of danger Ms. Feehan still weaves in the threads that will continue her series and I wonder how some seemily temporary characters will effect the subsequent books. ie.  The Reverend RJ, that man brings a whole new meaning to the word Pervert, and the fact that he heads up a Cult is far from surprising.

All in all this book was more that I could have ever hoped for, the ending was well written and emotional. I can’t wait for the next book, but than after it all we have left is Elle. maybe Ms Feehan will right the stories of her Seven Daughters, that way we never have to let the Drakes go.

Leave a Reply

 
