Logan’s Literary Libations

Ramblings of a Romance Junkie

Hunting the Demon by Jaci Burton

Posted by Jenn on August 17, 2007

Hunting the Demon

IN A WILDERNESS SEETHING WITH SIN AND

SEDUCTION, THE CHASE IS ON.

Hunting demons for a living can have its moments. Especially when Shay Pearson’s latest quarry is the gorgeous bronzed surfer who just stepped out of the sea. Uncovering Nic Diavolo’s devilish side could prove Shay’s toughest assignment yet. Because while she’s acting as bait to snatch this sexy bad boy, Nic’s got a plan of seduction no woman—earthly or otherwise–can resist.

Caught between two warring realms, Nic needs to stay alive long enough to figure out who his enemies are. That includes the beautiful hunter who won’t let him out of her sight. And something far worse: A force of evil with an almost unimaginable goal – possessing Nic’s very soul. But the hunt really heats up when a guy who’s hotter than Hades and a woman who’s afraid to love join forces, igniting an inferno of lust and longing that could send them into mortal danger…or straight into each other’s arms…

Jaci Burton’s second installment of her Demon Hunters Series is as hot and action packed as it’s predecessor.  We rejoin the members of the Realm of Light as they continue to battle the Sons of Darkness. Knowing that she will do anything to fight the demons Shay Pearson sets off to bring back  Nic Diavolo so that she and the Realm can decide whose side he is on.

As I expect with any novel by Ms. Burton I was completely engossed in the story and emotionally invested in it’s characters after reading just a few pages. I sat down to read this book thinking that I’d read some now and finish today or tomorrow, but I couldn’t go to bed until I’d finished every page.

The action in this book is fast paced, easily followed and had me on the edge of my seat. Her descriptions of the demons are so vivid that I could close my eyes and see them. Even now as I write this I shudder a little when I picture them in my mind.

Shay is a heroine I can totally get behind, she is the right mix of strength and vulnerabilty. I found myself on more then one occassion wanting to reach out into the pages and help her. She’s a woman more than capable of holding her own and even after personal set backs that could hinder a person she was still putting herself out there. Like Gina from SURVIVING DEMON ISLAND she is one tough cookie, but unique in her own right.

Dominic “Nic” Diavolo is man of privilege and heir to a sizable forturne yet he is so down to earth I found that I quickly forgot that small bit about him.  He comes across as approachable and very much like every other guy you might stumble across on the beach. Like his brother Derek he is strong and definitely in charge of all he controls. Throughout the story he struggles with the truth versus what he has known his whole life. His vulnerabilites are there beneath the surface yet he faces each challenge head on and with a confidence that makes him exteremly attractive.

Once HUNTING THE DEMON has you in it’s grasp you will be hard pressed to put it down until your done reading. I found myself interupted a few times yesterday as I read and was more then a little annoyed by it. Things like dinner and the wash were quite a nussance and as far as I was concerned not as important as finishing this book.

All in all this book is one of the best I’ve read from Jaci and that is saying a lot. I’m with out a doubt a huge Jaci fan and I love everything I’ve read from her, but HUNTING THE DEMON may be her best work yet and it is definitely one of top five books I’ve read all year.

Hunting the Demon release August 28th from Bantam Dell.

You can learn more about Jaci Burton and her Demon Hunters here.

You can preorder HUNTING THE DEMON at Amazon.com or at B&N.com

One Response to “Hunting the Demon by Jaci Burton”

  1. I’ll have to check this one out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
